Photo Monday- Sail Away, Not Quite

1

April 28, 2014 by Cheyenne

Knik Boat-web2A few months back Owen and I took a drive 15 miles down Knik Goose Bay Road to see if I could get a good picture of Joe Reddington Sr. boat, the Nomad.

Mr. Reddington is known to Alaskans as the Father of the Iditarod. In the 17 Iditarod races he never won. He did placed a few times in the top five. His hard work and dedication in promoting the race  with the help of Dorothy Page earned the name ‘Father of the Iditarod’.

The 15 miles took us over a half hour to get there. The skies were crystal blue and the temperature was around 30 degrees. I attached my zoom lenses and shot this out my drivers window. There was a small shoulder for me to park on and I was battling angle and cars passing by. And the biggest challenge, but three-year old. Out of the twenty or so photos I took, this one was what I was hoping for.

We continued on another 20 miles to chase a mountain. Watch next Monday on how I did.

 

If you liked this post, please follow me on facebook.

One thought on “Photo Monday- Sail Away, Not Quite

  1. Hilary says:

    Visited this spot in early June and just looked it up on Google to see what it said!We were told there was history behind the boat so glad to find it out!
    More photos please as reminds me of a lovely few days there.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 216 other followers

